Educational Foundation celebrates scholarship winners in DHS Class of 2021

The 2021 Educational Foundation Scholarship Banquet was back to being an in-person event on Saturday, as students and parents gathered in Hibbs Auditorium to celebrate the Class of 2021 student scholarships.

Superintendent Matthew Hickam welcomed everyone and former Du Quoin superintendent Gary Kelly provided the invocation.

<b>2021 Educational Foundation awards</b>

Harley Ransom: Ann Paxton Memorial Scholarship.

Lane Bauman and Lillian Feltmeyer: Ashley Thompson FFA Scholarship.

Yesenia Estrada and Jonathan Gomes: Corey Shaw Memorial Scholarship.

Samuel Indorante: DHS Alumni Association Scholarship.

Maya Russell and David Gomes: Du Quoin High School Athletic Booster Club Scholarship.

Lillian Feltmeyer and Haylie McIntosh: Du Quoin Ministerial Alliance Scholarship.

Edwin Mugford Jr.: Du Quoin Police Department Scholarship.

Olivia Chapman: Frieda Zettler Memorial Scholarship for Nursing.

Elizabeth Loyd, Jacqueline Crain, Brazil Erving and Sophie Davis: The Gary and Deana Kelly Family Scholarship.

Elizabeth Davis: The Harry "Corky" Strong Jr. Memorial Scholarship.

Sara Indorante: The Jack Licata Memorial Scholarship.

Jacqueline Crain: The Jacob Craig Memorial Scholarship.

Jacob Harsy: Jeffery Allen Connor II Memorial Scholarship.

Emily Boyett: John H. Croessman Communications Scholarship.

Ben Harsy and Garrick Blevins: Lance Cpl. Drew Uhles Memorial Scholarship.

Sophie Davis: Leon L. Longshore Family Memorial Scholarship.

Blayke Spencer and Hunter Atteberry: Lions Club Scholarship.

Elizabeth Loyd: Marion Eye Center Scholarship.

Owen Bradley: McPherson Family Scholarship.

Madelyn Saul: Preceptor Alpha Eta Memorial Scholarship.

Addison Carver and Summer Woodside: The Red Cross Blood Services High School 'Young Minds Change Lives' Scholarship.

Reese Tilley: Richard Fronek Memorial Scholarship.

Owen Bradley: Russell D. Phillips Jr. Memorial Scholarship.

Reese Rodely: Seth Milam Memorial Scholarship.

Jacqueline Crain: Shane Jackson Memorial Scholarship.

Addison Carver: Spanish Club Scholarship.

Konner Harris and Slade West: Veterans of Foreign Wars Post 513 Scholarship.

Aubrey Barwick and Samuel Indorante: William A. Mathis Sr. Scholarship.

Isabella Hirsch: William O. Stanhouse Memorial Scholarship.

Recipients of the $1,000 Educational Foundation Scholarships are Aubrey Barwick, Emily Boyett, Addison Carver, Olivia Chapman, Elizabeth Davis, Sophie Davis, Yesenia Estrada, Hailee Gaines, Davis Gomes, Samuel Indorante, Sara Indorante, Elizabeth Loyd, Bailey Nehring, Alaina Ridgeway, Maya Russell and Summer Woodside.

Recipients of the $500 Educational Foundation Scholarships are Alexis Blaylock, Raylee Carroll, Makayla Davis, Delaynie Dearmond, Chrichelle Edward, Elijah File, Kendra Gregory, Jacob Harsy, Isabella Hirsch, Traelee Horn, Dylan Jackson, Camilla Knapp, Haylie McIntosh, Summer Miller, Alivia Owings, Madeline Robison, Madelyn Saul, Kirtley Scarber, Cameron Shivley, Riley Vancil, Alyiah Waters, Idris Willis Jr., and Brian Winters.

<b>Other scholarships</b>

Additional awards outside of The Educational Foundation were recognized at the banquet.

Boral North American Scholarship: Madeline Robison.

John A Logan College Foundation Scholarships (which include the FAVAS Academic Scholarship), Elizabeth Davis and Yesenia Estrada. The FAVAS Vocational Scholarship, Isabella Hirsch.

The Altekruse Scholarship, Konner Harris.

The Black Diamond Harley Davison Scholarship, Alyiah Waters.

The James B. & Rosemary Samuel Childress Scholarship, Kendra Gregory.

The Karen Rushing Young Scholarship, Blayke Spencer.

Italian Club Scholarships, Jacqueline Crain, Yesenia Estrada and Dylan Jackson.

Eagles Aeries 779 James Booker/Lester McRoy Scholarship, Dylan Jackson.

Marshall Browning Hospital Scholarship, Addison Carver.

MIA/POW Scholarship, Garrick Blevins.

National Wild Turkey Federation Scholarship, Hunter Attebery.

Student Ambassador Scholarship, Alyiah Waters.

Bradley University Scholarship, Alaina Ridgeway.

Ferris State University Scholarship, Aubrey Barwick.

John A. Logan College Athletic Scholarship, Brian Winters.

Southeast Missouri State University Scholarship, Madelyn Saul.

Southern Illinois University at Carbondale Scholarship, David Gomes.

University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign Scholarship, Alexis Blaylock.

University of Missouri Scholarship, Emily Boyett.