Breaking News Bar

SIRR, BDC announce All-Conference Teams

By Spyder Dann
updated: 4/1/2021 9:03 AM

Five area seniors were named to the Southern Illinois River-To-River Ohio Division All-Conference Team.
Harrisburg senior Andrew Bittle, joined Benton's Reece Johnson, Herrin's Billy Braid, Massac County's J.J. Sweat and Murphysboro's JaQuan Jackson on the list.
Bittle averaged 12 points per game for the Bulldogs and a 41% shooter from 3-point range and 51% from the field. The outgoing senior added 2.1 rebounds a game.
Johnson finished fifth on the school's all-time scoring list with 1,446 points. This past season, he averaged 15 points per game, to go along with, 5 assists and 3 rebounds.
Also making the team was Benton junior Reid Baumgarte, Harrisburg junior Michael Godsey, Herrin sophomore Haydon Mayer, Massac County freshman Isaac Hosman and Murphysboro junior Calvin Clemons.
Godsey averaged a team best 13.3 points per game and shot 51% from the field and 40% from 3-point range, while averaging 3.3 rebounds a game.
Baumgarte was the "best on-ball defender in the league" according to head coach Ron Winemiller and averaged 7 points per game, 4 rebounds and 5 assists.
Hosman averaged 13.4 points per game this past season, finishing with 215 points and 99 assists.
On the girls' side, Massac County and Benton each put thee players on the All-Conference team as the Rangerettes were represented by Addisyn Miller, Braelyn Miller and Ensley Tedeschi. Massac County finished with Farrah Castleman, Kendra Waldon and Cali McCraw on the team.
Addisyn Miller averaged 17.1 points per game, shooting 43% from 3-point range and 71% from the free throw line. She finished with 209 career 3-pointers and had a school record eight 3-pointers in one game. Miller finished with, 3.2 steals, 3.7 rebounds and 2.5 assists per game.
Braelyn Miller shot 44% from the field and 38% from 3-point range, while averaging 8.3 points per game. Her 6.7 rebounds per game led the way for the Rangerettes.
Tedeschi averaged 8.1 ppg and was a 50% free throw shooter. She averaged 3.1 rebounds per game, 2.9 steals and 2.1 assists.
Herrin had Layla Wade and Presli Karnes make the list, while West Frankfort's Lexi McLaren and Harrisburg's Lauryn Gribble were solo members.
In the Black Diamond Conference, Eldorado's Aiden Whitlock took home Captain honors, while Fairfield's Landon Zurliene was named Most Valuable Player.
Zurliene, a three-year starter at Fairfield and three time BDC All-Conference, plus McKendree signee, shot 47.7% from the field and 35.3 from 3-point range, while averaging 20 points per game for the Mules.
Whitlock, who went over the 1,000-point plateau this past season, averaged a team-high 19.7 points per game and 11.4 rebounds a game.
Also joining Whitlock was teammate Bryant Byrd, while Zurliene was joined by Brandon Lane and Noah McElravy.
Byrd averaged 10.4 ppg for the Eagles and had 7 rebounds a contest.
McElravy is a two-time BDC All-Conference and shot 62% from the field, while shooting 42% from 3-point range and averaging 14 points per game for the Mules.
Carmi-White County had Devin Rankin and Peyton Edwards, while Johnston City put Austin Brown, Edwards County had Kade St. Ledger and Hamilton County had Grady Lueke all make the team.
On the girls' side, EHS was repented by Lexi Mitchell as Captain, while Fairfield's Leah Bowers was named MVP.
The Eagles also had Emma Wargel make the team, while Fairfield put Colbie Sutton and Kate Book on the team. Hamilton County was represented by Kaelee Karcher, Carson Belangee and Jaycee Wellen and Edwards County had Jenna Schnepper and Isabel Shepherd. Rounding out the list was Johnston City's Madison Weber.

Spyder Dann covers prep and college sports for the Southern Illinois LOCAL Media Group. Follow him on Twitter: @spydieshooter.

Search Carbondale Times